Celebrating Students Success

Matapuna Awards and Trophies

The Matapuna Trust Award

This award is for the student or students that best demonstrates our Matapuna Training Centre values. Students awarded this trophy are good citizens, and are consistent in their work and study ethics. They will possess assertive attitudes towards their learning, staff, and peers that all students should work towards. The joint 2014 winners are Anamei Morrell, Michalea Dodd, and Kye Lewis.

The CEO Award

This trophy is presented each year to the student who gained the most credits within the current year. The 2014 winner is Phoebe Jones-Kohunui (125 credits).

The Kevin Makin Memorial Scholarship - founder of Matapuna

For students that are moving onto higher education. The 2014 Kevin Makin Scholarship joint winners are:

  • Zarian Smith who will study towards a Diploma in Social Work at Te Wananga o Aotearoa.
  • Chev Te Kira who will study for the Certificate in Performance Music at Ucol in Palmerston North

 Chev and Zarian

Passed Students - Jana Ruru

Jana enrolled on a computing course. She was a motivated young lady who gave everything a go. She always had a smile on her face.  

Jana graduated with a number of national certificates including a National Certificate in Business Administration Level 2, and a National Certificate in Computing Level 2.

She works in the front office of a local medical centre, Te Puhi Kaiti, (Ngati Porou Hauora) Kaiti Mall. 

Passed Students - Karla Hei

Karla was employed as a Receptionist for Woodward Chrisp Legal Law Firm immediately after leaving Matapuna but has now moved into a secretarial role.   

Passed Students - Nadine Corbet

Nadine graduated with several national certificates in computing at Level 2 and 3 and went on to complete assessor and moderation qualifications.  She is currently employed as a Program Officer with WA General Practice Education and Training. She is living in Perth, Western Australia with her son.